Google+’s new feature takes over SERPs and benefits content marketers

While doing some researching for a client of mine, I used Google’s search engine; it’s 2012. Who doesn’t?!

And not exactly to my surprise, Google has added another feature of Google+ – their quickly expanding social networking site – to the Google search engine results page (SERP).

When logged in to any of their tools and online applications, if you conduct a Google search, your results now include an “Actively Discussed on Google+” feature below search results.

The New 'Actively Discussed on Google+' Feature

(source: Greg Finn, Search Engine Land)

The Benefit of Google’s New Search Feature

Not too long ago, Google began showing related Google+ profiles and posts to the right of the SERP. For content marketers, this is a golden opportunity to build inbound traffic.

With the new “Actively Discussed on Google+” feature, an excellent opportunity is enhanced even more. Now users can see related content right below search results without having to click away from the SERP. Just click the ‘Show’ link. Comments and posts that directly relate to the displayed search result show up.

Another Reason to Focus on Interesting & Valuable Content

With Google’s latest SERP update, you no longer have to occupy the first page of search results, as long as you have interesting and engaging content. If readers leave comments and share your content, because of its popularity on Google+, your content has a good chance of showing up under search results for related subject matter.

With all the penalties and algorithm changes Google has rolled out since the beginning of the year, it’s nice to see a feature that benefits marketers AND search engine users.

I’ve yet to see an official announcement from Google about the feature though. Let’s hope it stays around.

For what other reasons will you start taking advantage of the new ‘Actively Discussed’ feature?

Do you have any other improvements in mind that Google can implement to make users’ search experience better?

Perhaps you aren’t so happy about the update. Why not?

Nikki Robinson is a freelance web copywriter and a member of American Writers & Artists Inc. Her background and experience includes business management, sales & marketing, telecommunications and legal writing. Contact her at Nikki@RobinsonWriting.com or visit RobinsonWriting.com for more info.

9 thoughts on “Google+’s new feature takes over SERPs and benefits content marketers

  1. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am happy to express that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most definitely will make sure to don?t disregard this website and give it a glance regularly.

  2. You could definitely see your skills in the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  3. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot surely will make sure to do not fail to remember this web site and provides it a look on a relentless basis.

  4. I’d should check with you here. Which isn’t one thing I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  5. I must check with you here often. Which isn’t something I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that can make folks think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

